Training reactor VR-1

Department of Nuclear Reactors

Department of Nuclear Reactors of the Faculty of Nuclear Sciences and Physical Engineering CTU in Prague guarantees the operation and coordinates the utilization of the VR-1 training reactor and focuses on education and research in the field of nuclear engineering.

Educational activity

Department guarantees study in the field of nuclear engineering in the following programmes:

  • B.Sc. programme: Nuclear facilities
  • M.Sc. programme: Theory and technology of nuclear reactors, Nuclear energy and environment
  • Ph.D. programme: Reactor physics, Nuclear safety, Applyed nuclear physics, Nuclear energy and environment

Research activities

The Department is focusing principaly on:

  • Theoretical and experimental reactor physics,
  • Digital control of the research reactors
  • Safe and dependable operation of nuclear facilities
  • Spent fuel disposal
  • Programmes for training of selected employees
  • Set-up of educational programmes
  • Advanced nuclear and non-nuclear sources

Profesional co-operation

Department cooperates with following institutions:

  • ÚJV Řež - Nuclear Research Institute Řež
  • ÚJF AV ČR - Nuclerar Physics Institute of the Academy of Sciences
  • SÚJB - State Office for Nuclear Safety
  • ŠKODA JS Plzeň - ŠKODA Nuclerar Machinery Comp.
  • ČEZ a.s., Praha - Power company
  • ČEZ ETE - Temelin Nuclear Power Plant
  • ČEZ EDU - Dukovany Nuclear Power Plant
  • SÚRAO - RAWRA Radioactive Waste Repository Authority

International co-operation

Department cooperates with the following foreign partners:

  • International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna, Austria
  • STU Bratislava – Slovak University of Technology (Slovakia)
  • TU Budapest – Budapest university of Technology and Economics (Hungary)
  • TU Vienna – Technische Universität Wien (Austria)
  • TU Dresden - Technische Universität Dresden (Germany)
  • TH Jüllich – Aachen University of Applied Sciences (Germany)
  • VÚJE Trnava - Nuclear Power Plant Research Institute (Slovakia)
  • JINR Dubna – Joint Institute of Nuclear Research (Russia)
  • HRP Halden – Halden Reactor Project (Norway)

For the website of the Faculty of Nuclear Sciences and Physical Engineering please see:

© DNR FNSPE CTU in Prague, 2017